Steering Committee

Home  /  Steering Committee


Chris Schaben, Ph.D
Science Supervisor – Omaha Public Schools District


The Steering Committee serves as the governing board within the Omaha STEM Ecosystem’s organizational structure, providing on-going support, guidance and oversight of the STEM ecosystem. Committee members represent all sectors of our community and serve a three-year term. In addition, each Steering Committee member serves as an advisor on the Action Committees.


  • Support organizational goals of OSE as defined in the strategic plan
  • Help to facilitate and champion OSE initiatives
  • Determine self-assessment process that the committee will use to develop action plan
  • Serve as an advisor with action committees and involved in assessment progress of initiative


Megan Addison                                 Collective for Youth

Jim Collison                                      Gallup

Karlus Cozart                                    Omaha Public Schools

Paige Dempsey                                 Consultant

Michael Flesch                                  Metropolitan Community College

Neal Grandgenett                              University NE at Omaha

Matt John                                           Union Pacific

Elizabeth Mulkerrin                           Omaha’s HD Zoo & Aquarium

Chris Schaben                                   Omaha Public Schools

Julie Sigmon                                      Omaha STEM Ecosystem

Laurie Zagurski                                 Omaha Public Power District